Home

Camera 360

Camera 360

The shop looks great! I made a handful of new rings over the weekend in order to have at least 50 items in stock at any given time. Some Photoshop tricks helped spruce up product shots and traffic has gone up as a result. Thing is, I still don’t have sales.

I read somewhere that the most critical mistake a new online shop owner can make is to put all effort and resources into product development while disregarding other aspects of business. I’m talking about marketing, accounting and operations management. Of course, it all starts out with product, but unless you are really lucky, riding on that alone won’t get you very far. If anywhere at all.

It makes me think of Wayne’s World 2 and that line from Field of Dreams.. “If you build it, they will come.” I’m not really sure anymore, and the movie wasn’t great, but I don’t think anyone came. In any case, I tweaked the mantra a bit to “If you build it and send out pretty invitations, they will come!”

I’ve gathered links of blogs and online retailers that are a good match for my jewelry, but now I’m not really sure how to proceed. How does a new brand reach out to media outlets anyway? What information are retailers looking for?

These questions need answers fast. Guests from Switzerland are coming and I’ll need to take them out. Party time is not so excellent when you don’t have cash for a round of vodka red bull.

8 thoughts on “Party time, excellent

  1. +JMJ+

    I’ve never gone into online retailing, so take everything I say with a grain of salt . . . but what this post made me think of is this article:

    http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/small-business/sb-tools/ten-ways-to-find-your-mentorship-match/article4216658/

    You might have found it eventually, because you saved the links from my last post, and it’s a link from one of the links–but I thought I’d move it to the top of the queue anyway. It seems to me that the only one who can answer your questions is someone who has already been in your place, so I hope you can find a good mentor soon! =)

  2. Wow, this looks great. And your shop has nice photos too! You have a talent with picking lovely colours. 🙂

    You’re right about how common it is to only work on marketing and management after building your talent or a product (guilty right here). But I think you’re a natural entrepreneur and are sure to do well, as long as you keep at it.

  3. Thanks for rooting for me.. You made my day 🙂

    I’ve decided to stay this course ’till the end! Er, not ‘that’ end… just ‘an’ end.

    I wish someone would do our dirty business for us so we could spend all our time just making things. Preferably in dusters and beside a pack of Chocnut.

  4. yes, wayne’s world was really a cloudy aftermath from all the drugs injected from the 80s and early 90s, but i do like how you added “send out pretty invitations” to it! it’s 2013, lets be prutehh and positive! (ok maybe i injected some drugs into my system too.)

Leave a Reply

